Programs

Hoof & Paw TRAC > Programs

Therapeutic Riding Lessons

Hoof and Paw Therapeutic Riding and Activity Center offers riding lessons and related equine activities to individuals with disabilities, disadvantages or special needs.

At Hoof and Paw, each rider is evaluated with input from the student, parents or guardian, goals and objectives are established. Individualized lesson plans will be designed to reach the students goals. Goals are constantly updated to ensure the lessons continue tog press as the rider’s skills improve.

Riding lessons typically begin with the rider grooming the horse. This is an important part of the lesson because it provides the chance for bonding and trust to develop between the horse and the rider.

The mounted lessons usually starts with exercises to help loose and warm up the rider’s muscles. After warm-ups, the horsemanship skills are practiced by incorporating lessons with games and course work. To close the lesson the student will again groom the horse and assist in returning the riding equipment to the tack room.

Lessons are offered by appointment on Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday. You may call 336-764-9026 or 336-407-8609 for an appointment.

Rider’s Medical History and Physician’s Statement Form



Special Olympics

Hoof and Paw TRAC is the training site for the Special Olympics Northern Piedmont Area equestrian program. Youth and adults with an intellectual disability are eligible to participate in Special Olympics.

Athletes selected are eligible to participate in the Special Olympics North Carolina Equestrian Championship held in October in Raleigh, NC.

SONC Training Schedule (Forsyth County)

Day Date Time
Tuesday April 4, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Monday April 10, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Tuesday April 18, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Monday April 24, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Tuesday May 2, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Monday May 8, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Tuesday May 16, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Monday May 22, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Tuesday May 30, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Monday June 5, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Tuesday June 13, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
Monday June 19, 2017 5:30pm-9:00pm
June 20-30, 2017 NO PRACTICE
Monday July 10, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
July 11-31, 2017 NO PRACTICE
Tuesday August 1, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Monday August 7, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
August 8-31, 2017 NO PRACTICE
Tuesday September 5, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm Only Athletes going to State
Monday September 11, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm Only Athletes going to State
Tuesday September 19, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm Only Athletes going to State
Monday September 25, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm Only Athletes going to State
Tuesday September 26, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm Only Athletes going to State
September 29-Oct 1, 2017 State Competition – Raleigh
Tuesday October 10, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Monday October 16, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Tuesday October 24, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Monday October 30, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Tuesday November 7, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Monday November 13, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Tuesday November 21, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
Monday November 27, 2017 6:00pm-9:00pm
November 28-30, 2017 NO PRACTICE
December 1-31, 2017 NO PRACTICE
January 1-31, 2018 NO PRACTICE
February 1-28, 2018 NO PRACTICE
March 1-31, 2018 NO PRACTICE